Join CSTE   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
Steering Committees
CSTE’s activities are organized under 6 main Steering Committees, with corresponding subcommittees that focus on specific topics. If you are interested in participating in a subcommittee’s activities and projects, you can join the distribution list by managing your CSTE member profile and by contacting the CSTE National Office staff.

Chronic Disease/ Maternal & Child Health/ Oral Health Steering Committee

Chair: Renee Calanan, MS, PhD
Staff: Nidal Kram , MPH


Chronic Disease Champ Thomaskutty, MPH

CD/MCH/OH Epidemiology Capacity Building

Renee Calanan, MS, PhD

Maternal and Child Health

Patricia McKane, DVM, MPH

Oral Health Robert Graff, PhD


Association of State and Territorial Health Officials ( ASTHO) Prevention Policy Committee

Chris Maylahn, MPH

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System ( BRFSS)

Youjie Huang, MD

National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD) Science & Epi Committee

Khosrow Heidari, MA, MS

National Salt Reduction Initiative


Cross Cutting I Steering Committee

Chair: Richard Danila, PhD, MPH
Staff: Nidal Kram, MPH, Amanda Masters, MPH, Jessica Pittman, MPH



Laura Tomedi, PhD, MPH

Alcohol and Other Drug Indicators

Steve Wirtz, PhD
Tom Largo, MPH

Local Epidemiology Megan Davies, MD


Jennifer Sabel, PhD

Public Health and Primary Care Integration Katrina Hedberg, MD, MPH
Tom Safranek, MD

Substance Abuse

Corinne Miller, PhD, DDS
Michael Landen, MD, MPH


Bob Harrison, MD, MPH


Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration ( SAMHSA)

Duc Vugia, MD, MPH

Cross Cutting II Steering Committee

Chair: Marcelle Layton, MD
Staff: Dhara Patel, MPH, Amy Patel, MPH
Jessica Wurster, MPH


Border / International Health

Ken Komatsu, MPH


Duc Vugia, MD, MPH
James Hadler, MD, MPH

Epidemiology Methods Matthew Thomas, PhD

Public Health Law

Priscilla Fox, BA, JD
Mary Kennedy, JD

Public Health Emergency Preparedness

Richard Danila, PhD, MPH

Tribal Epidemiology

Michael Landen, MD, MPH


The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)

Brian Labus, MPH

ASTHO Preparedness Committee

Richard Danila, PhD, MPH

Environmental Health/ Occupational Health/ Injury Steering Committee

Chair: Sharon Watkins, PhD, MA
Staff: Amy Patel, MPH, Jessica Wurster, MPH


Climate Change

Paul English, PhD, MPH

Disaster Epidemiology

Ashley Conley, MS, CPH, CHEP

Environmental Epidemiology

Sharon Watkins, PhD, MA
Henry Anderson, MD

Injury Surveillance and Control

Michael Bauer, MS

Occupational Health Surveillance

Tish Davis, ScD EdM
Kenneth Rosenman, MD


CDC/National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Surveillance Coordination Group

Kathy Leinenkugel, MPA, REHS, MT

CDC/National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)

Jerry Fagliano, MD, PhD

Safe States (Formerly STIPDA)

Holly Hedegaard, MD, MSPH

ASTHO Environmental Health Committee

Henry Anderson, MD

ASTHO Climate Change Collaborative

Paul English, PhD, MPH

ASTHO Radiation Alliance

Sharon Watkins, PhD
Martha Stanbury, MS

Infectious Disease Steering Committee

Chair: Kristy Bradley, DVM, MPH
Staff: Dhara Patel, MPH, Nicole Bryan, MPH, Monica Lachey, MPH


Food Safety

Kirk Smith, DVM,MS, PhD

Healthcare Associated Infections

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH


Bridget Anderson, PhD


Christine Hahn, MD
Lisa McHugh, MPH


Lynn Sosa, MD

Vaccine-Preventable Diseases

Susan Lett, MD, MPH

Vectorborne Diseases

Carina Blackmore, DVM, PhD


Active Bacterial Core ( ABC) Surveillance Steering Committee

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

Advisory Council for the Elimination of Tuberculosis ( ACET)

Shama Ahuja, PhD, MPH

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices ( ACIP)

Christine Hahn, MD

ASTHO Infectious Diseases Committee

Christine Hahn, MD

Food and Drug Administration ( FDA)

Tim Jones, MD

Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee ( HICPAC)

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

Immunization Action Coalition

Bernadette Albanese, MD, MPH

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)


National Association of Public Health Veterinarians ( NASPHV)

John Dunn, DVM, PhD

National Alliance of State and Territorial AIDS Directors ( NASTAD)

Bridget Anderson, PhD

National Healthcare Safety Network ( NHSN) Steering Committee

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

AABB's Transfusion Transmitted Diseases Committee Alfred DeMaria, Jr., MD
Urban Coalition for HIV/AIDS Prevention Services (UCHAPS) Kathleen Brady, MD

Surveillance/Informatics Steering Committee

Chair: Janet Hamilton, MPH
Staff: Meredith Lichtenstein,MPH, Becky Lampkins, MPH, Janet Hui, MPH


Electronic Laboratory and Disease Reporting

Gillian Haney, MPH

Surveillance Policy

Sarah Park, MD

Surveillance Practice and Implementation

Kathy Turner, PhD, MPH


ASTHO Informatics Committee



David Dassey MD, MPH



Joint Public Health Informatics Taskforce ( JPHIT)

Corinne Miller, PhD, DDS

National Association for Public Health Statistics and Information Systems ( NAPHSIS)

Steven Macdonald, PhD, MPH

Newborn Screening ( NBS) User Group

Erin Holt, MPH

Public Health Data Standards Consortium


Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal