CSTE logo
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Pumphandle Awards

Marion Kainer is awarded the 2019 Pumphandle Award

The CSTE Pumphandle Award is awarded annually for outstanding achievement in the field of applied epidemiology. This award honors a state, local, territorial, or federal epidemiologist who exemplifies extraordinary contributions to and outstanding achievements in the field of applied epidemiology.
Award Description Who Can Nominate? How Do I Nominate? Who Can Be Nominated?
Pumphandle Award Recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of applied epidemiology Anyone Submit a one-page letter to  awards@cste.org Nominee must be a practicing state, local, territorial, or federal epidemiologist or recently retired

Nomination Guidelines
Letters of nomination explain why the candidate deserves the award by describing career achievements with specific examples. Additional letters of support are welcome. Self-nominations are not accepted. Criteria include:
  1. The candidate is a state, local, territorial or federal epidemiologist, practicing or recently retired. Submitting the nominee’s CV is recommended.
  2. The candidate has made significant contributions to the field of applied epidemiology. Specific examples are required.
  3. The candidate has demonstrated leadership in the public health community. Specific examples are required.
Nominations are reviewed and scored by the CSTE Executive Board.
Past Pumphandle Award Winners are:
  • 2019 Marion Kainer
  • 2018 Alfred DeMaria
  • 2017 Tim Jones
  • 2016 Laurene Mascola and Robert Harrison
  • 2015 Steven Macdonald
  • 2014 William Keene
  • 2013 Stephen Ostroff
  • 2012 Donald Hopkins and Richard Hopkins
  • 2011 Henry Anderson
  • 2010 Matthew Cartter
  • 2009 Kathleen Gensheimer
  • 2008 Richard Vogt
  • 2007 James Hadler
  • 2006 Guthrie S. Birkhead
  • 2005 Suzanne Jenkins and Dennis Perrotta
  • 2004 Patty Quinlisk
  • 2003 Richard Hoffman
  • 2002 Marci Layton
  • 2001 James Marks
  • 2000 David Fleming
  • 1999 Louise McFarland
  • 1998 James Curran
  • 1997 Kenneth Wilcox
  • 1996 Andrew Dean
  • 1995 Dale Morse
  • 1994 Gregory Istre
  • 1993 Justin Lyle Conrad
  • 1992 Lawrence Foster
  • 1991 Michael Osterholm
  • 1990 Jeffrey Davis
For more information, please contact the CSTE national office at 770-458-3811.
Return to the CSTE Annual Awards Page