CSTE logo
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Presidential Award
Share |

Sharon Greene is awarded the 2018 Presidential Priorities Award

CSTE Award for Outstanding Membership Contributions to Advance the Current Presidential Priorities

Presidential Priorities Award
The Presidential Priorities Award began in 2018 and recognizes an individual member whose professional work advances the current Presidential Priorities. The award is presented by the CSTE President at the Annual Conference, which coincides with the conclusion of the President’s term.
What are CSTE Presidential Priorities?
Each year, the President of CSTE sets forth a list of Presidential Priorities. These are key areas impacting the field of applied epidemiology that the organization, Executive Director and the Executive Board work to advance during the year. Presidential Priorities change from year-to-year based on the current CSTE President.
This year, the award will recognize a member who makes contributions to the 2018-19 Presidential Priorities as follows:
Overall Presidential Priority: Teamwork and collaboration without borders
Criteria for selecting the award recipient:
  1. Encourage workforce diversity—not only in gender and race/culture but also across disciplines/subject matter areas—to assure a uniformly robust and diverse epidemiology workforce (2018-2020 Strategic Priority B4)
  2. Strengthen collaborative infectious and non-infectious surveillance initiatives—to assure consistency and coordination in operations, standards, and systems as well as advance electronic data exchange systems through the combined knowledge, experience, and efforts of all areas (2018-2020 Strategic Priority A2)
  3. Foster and enhance critical external partnerships—to strengthen support for and recognition of CSTE’s mission and all public health initiatives as key to healthy communities (2018-2020 Strategic Priorities D, E)
To view CSTE’s 2018-2020 Strategic Plan, click HERE.
Criteria for abstract consideration:
  • Must demonstrate major contribution/involvement by multiple epidemiological subject areas, especially infectious and non-infectious (at least one infectious and one non-infectious program area) as well as close and considerable collaboration with key external partners (at least one external public health partner)
  • Presenter must be from a state, territorial, tribal, or local health department; federal employees are not eligible.
  • Abstract must be selected to present an oral presentation; roundtable, poster, and late-breaker abstracts are not eligible.