CSTE logo
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Steering Committees
CSTE’s activities are organized under 6 main Steering Committees, with corresponding subcommittees that focus on specific topics. If you are interested in participating in a subcommittee’s activities and projects, you can join the distribution list by managing your CSTE member profile and by contacting the CSTE National Office staff.

Chronic Disease/ Maternal & Child Health/ Oral Health Steering Committee

Chair: Angela Dunn, MD, MPH
Staff: Nikka Sorrells, MPH


Chronic Disease

Caitlin Pizzonia, MPH & Michael Friedrichs, MS

Maternal and Child Health

Melissa Baker, MA

Oral Health Pankti Parmar, MPH, BDS & Hannah Cranford, MPH


Association of State and Territorial Health Officials ( ASTHO) Prevention Policy Committee

Chris Maylahn, MPH

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System ( BRFSS)

Chris Murphy, MS

National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD) Science & Epi Committee

Khosrow Heidari, MA, MS

Cross Cutting I Steering Committee

Chair: Barbara Gabella, MSPH
Staff: Megan Toe, MSW, Valerie Goodson, MPH, Nikka Sorrells, MPH


Alcohol Epidemiology

Laura Tomedi, PhD, MPH

Alcohol and Other Drug Indicators

Tom Largo, MPH

Marijuana Julia Dilley, PhD, MES
Kathryn DeYoung, MS

Mental Health

Aley Joseph, MPH, MS
Kyle Gardner, MSPH


Svetla Slavova, PhD
Barbara Gabella, MSPH

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Ellenie Tuazon, MPH

Substance Use & Mental Health

Michael Landen, MD, MPH


Cross Cutting II Steering Committee

Chair: Kenneth K. Komatsu , MPH
Staff: Becky Lampkins, MPH, Hayleigh McCall, MPH, Jessica Arrazola, MPH, CHES, Kiara Maddox


Border / International Health

Esmeralda Iniguez-Stevens, PhD, MPH

Health Disparities

Duc Vugia, MD, MPH & Alfreda Holloway-Beth, PhD, MPH
Epidemiology Methods Talia Brown, MS and Diana Cervantes, MS. DrPH
Public Health Emergency Preparedness Alan Siniscalchi, MS, MPH

Public Health Law

Marcelle Layton, MD

Tribal Epidemiology

Michael Landen, MD, MPH

Workforce Development Bob Harrison, MD, MPH,
Beth Daly, MPH


The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)


ASTHO Public Health Preparedness Policy Committee

Richard Danila, PhD, MPH

Environmental Health/ Occupational Health/ Injury Steering Committee

Chair: Melissa Jordan, MS
Staff: Hayleigh McCall, MPH, Song Xue, MPH, Danielle Boyd, MPH, Mia Israel, MPH, CHES


Climate, Health, and Equity

Asante Shipp-Hilts, PhD & Jason Vargo, PhD, MPH

Disaster Epidemiology

Tess Konen, MPH & Svetlana Smorodinsky, MPH

Environmental Epidemiology

Melissa Jordan, MS, CPH

Injury Epidemiology and Surveillance

Michael Bauer, MS

Occupational Health Surveillance

Rebecca Jackson, MPH
Kenneth Rosenman, MD


CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) Industry Occupation Workgroup Naomi Anderson, MPH

CDC/National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Surveillance Coordination Group

Kathy Leinenkugel, MPA, REHS, MT
Karla Armenti, ScD, MS

CDC/National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)


Safe States Alliance (Formerly STIPDA)

Holly Hedegaard, MD, MSPH

ASTHO Environmental Health Committee


ASTHO Climate Change Collaborative


National Alliance for Radiation Readiness

Betsy Kagey, PhD
Jennifer Beggs

Council for the Model Aquatic Health Code Justine Weinberg, MSEHS, CIH
 National Environmental Health Partnership Council (NEHPC)
Lori Harris-Franklin

Infectious Disease Steering Committee

Chair: Richard Danila, PhD, MPH
Staff: Monica Schroeder, MPH, Thuy Kim, MPH, Jordan Peart, MPH, Mimi Huynh, MPH, Ashley Vineyard, MPH, Puja Shah, MPH


Enteric Diseases

Kirk Smith, DVM,MS, PhD

Healthcare Associated Infections

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

Hepatitis C Daniel Church, MPH


Jessica Fridge

Influenza and Viral Respiratory Diseases

Christine Hahn, MD
Lisa McHugh, MPH


Lynn Sosa, MD

Vaccine-Preventable Diseases

Susan Lett, MD, MPH
Chas DeBolt, RN, MPH

Vector-Borne Diseases

Carina Blackmore, DVM, PhD


Active Bacterial Core ( ABC) Surveillance Steering Committee

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

Advisory Council for the Elimination of Tuberculosis ( ACET)

Shama Ahuja, PhD, MPH

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices ( ACIP)

Christine Hahn, MD

ASTHO Infectious Diseases Committee

Christine Hahn, MD
Joseph McLaughlin, MD, MPH

Food and Drug Administration ( FDA)

Tim Jones, MD

Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee ( HICPAC)

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

Immunization Action Coalition

Bernadette Albanese, MD, MPH

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)


National Association of Public Health Veterinarians ( NASPHV)

Jennifer House, DVM, MPH, DACVPM

National Alliance of State and Territorial AIDS Directors ( NASTAD)

Bridget Anderson, PhD

National Healthcare Safety Network ( NHSN) Steering Committee

Marion Kainer, MD, MPH

AABB's Transfusion Transmitted Diseases Committee Christina Tan, MD , MPH
Urban Coalition for HIV/AIDS Prevention Services (UCHAPS) Kathleen Brady, MD

Surveillance/Informatics Steering Committee

Chair: Kate Goodin, MPH, MS
Staff: Meredith Lichtenstein, MPH, Charisse LaVell, MPH, Shaily Krishan, MPH


Electronic Laboratory and Disease Reporting

Kate Goodin, MPH

Surveillance Policy

Sherri Davidson, MPH

Surveillance Practice and Implementation

Gillian Haney, MPH


ASTHO Informatics Directors Peer Network (IDPN)

Bonnie Liscek, MPS

Biosense Governance Group

Jim Collins, MPH

HL-7 Public Health and Emergency Response Workgroup

Erin Holt, MPH

International Society for Disease Surveillance (ISDS)


Joint Public Health Informatics Taskforce (JPHIT)

Kathryn Turner, PhD MPH

National Association for Public Health Statistics and Information Systems (NAPHSIS)

Kate Goodin, MPH

NEDSS Base System ( NBS) User Group

Erin Holt, MPH