CSTE logo
Surveillance / Informatics: NNDSS Modernization Initiative

CSTE is working with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL), and reporting jurisdictions in the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS) Modernization Initiative (NMI). NMI is a major initiative in CDC’s Surveillance Strategy, launched in February 2014. The purpose of NMI is to strengthen and modernize the infrastructure supporting NNDSS to provide more comprehensive, timely, and high-quality data than ever before for public health decision making. More information about NMI is available on CDC’s website.

CSTE is pleased to be working with several states in the pilot phase of NMI. CSTE has partnered with CDC and APHL to provide technical assistance (TA) to select jurisdictions to help implement prioritized message mapping guides (MMGs) as part of the NMI pilot phase.

NMI is a multiyear initiative, and the goal of the first year, or pilot phase, of the project is to have at least ten reporting jurisdictions successfully sending timely, complete, and high-quality data to the CDC hepatitis, STD, mumps, and pertussis programs through the CDC Platform (CDCP) by December 31, 2014. This goal will help reach the CDC Surveillance Strategy NMI metric of 90% of data reported through NNDSS be by standard HL7 messages by late 2016.
The NMI pilot phase involves the development of six prioritized message mapping guides, the development of the CDCP, and technical assistance to implement the six MMGs in selected reporting jurisdictions. CDC is currently finalizing the MMGs, which are generic v.2, hepatitis, STD, congenital syphilis, mumps, and pertussis, and concurrently working on the CDCP.
Technical assistance:
CSTE has partnered with CDC and APHL to provide technical assistance to reporting jurisdictions. Through the TA opportunities, participating jurisdictions will adopt the MMGs and use them to send HL7 case notification messages to the CDCP, where the messages will be received, processed, and stored for analysis and use by the relevant CDC programs.
The TA team will offer three types of hands-on TA:
  1. On-site: Key members of the TA team will travel to the jurisdiction to provide hands-on support and consulting for 2–3 days.
  2. Virtual: The TA team will provide support via web conferencing and teleconferences for jurisdictions that have all the necessary resources to complete the project with minimal assistance.
  3. Hybrid: A specific TA team member will be assigned to the jurisdiction to help fill any knowledge or resources gaps while the jurisdiction participates in web conferencing and teleconference trainings.
In addition to TA, participating jurisdictions will receive templates, standardized information, checklists, and other tools that can be reusable and adaptable for future MMGs to help support a common approach to meeting the goals of NMI. Once the pilot phase is complete, these resources will be compiled in a virtual toolkit that will be available on the CSTE website for any jurisdiction to use.
Pilot state selection:
Multiple factors were taken into consideration in selecting states to be invited to participate in the pilot phase of the NMI TA project. These factors include a jurisdiction’s technical capability and infrastructure, readiness to participate, higher levels of morbidity and thus higher volumes of nationally notifiable disease messages sent to CDC, types of surveillance systems in use, and scalability of solutions and lessons learned that can be used in other jurisdictions. TA is not system dependent; both National Electronic Disease Surveillance System Base System (NBS) and non-NBS jurisdictions will receive TA, but NBS states will receive TA from CDC’s NBS vendor contractor.
Other ways to participate:
Jurisdictions not selected to participate in the initial pilot may choose to implement available MMGs on their own. All reporting jurisdictions will be invited to adopt the MMGs and send HL7 case notification messages to CDC via the CDCP after this initial pilot phase.
As part of the Health Information Systems section of the new 2014–2018 Epidemiology and Laboratory Capacity for Infectious Diseases (ELC) Cooperative Agreement, states that chose not to or were not chosen to participate in the TA portion of the pilot phase can request TA for the implementation of priority MMGs by emailing EDX@cdc.gov. Implementation of these MMGs is a requirement for reporting jurisdictions in the ELC Cooperative Agreement.
CSTE, CDC, and APHL are committed to providing NMI project updates, successes, and other pertinent details to participating pilot jurisdictions and interested CSTE members on a regular basis.
We encourage you to access the following communication resources to learn more about NMI:
We will provide other communication resources and tools as they are developed.
For more information about the NMI TA project, please contact the CSTE National Office at nmi@cste.org.
Click here to view other Surveillance/Informatics Steering Committee activities.
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.