CSTE logo
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Hillary B. Foulkes Memorial Award
Emma Seagle accepts the 2019 award.

The Hillary B. Foulkes Memorial Award is presented to a graduating fellow in memory of Hillary Foulkes who was a Class V Applied Epidemiology fellow at the Texas Department of State Health Services working in Maternal and Child Health. Six months after the start of her fellowship, Hillary unexpectedly passed away. The Hillary B. Foulkes Memorial Award was created to remember Hillary and her work by acknowledging a graduating fellow who embodies her characteristics. With this award, CSTE hopes to encourage current and future fellows to spend their two years as Hillary did by striving for outstanding quality in their work, being motivated to make a public health impact, developing their interpersonal skills, and working with others on a team to reach their goals.
Award Description Who Can Nominate? How Do I Nominate? Who Can Be Nominated?
Hillary B. Foulkes Memorial Award Recognizes a graduating AEF fellow for work quality, motivation, interpersonal skills, and teamwork Mentor of a graduating AEF fellow Submit a one-page letter to Amanda Masters Nominee must be a graduating AEF fellow

Nomination Guidelines
Mentors of graduating fellows submit a one-page nomination describing the fellow’s quality of work, motivation to make a public health impact, interpersonal skills, and team player skills.
Nominations are sent to a review committee comprised of previous Hillary B. Foulkes Award recipients and previous fellows. The review committee uses a score sheet based on the aforementioned qualities.
Previous Winners
  • 2019: Emma Seagle
  • 2018: Mi Lee
  • 2017: Emily Morian-Lozano
  • 2016: Sarah Conderino
  • 2015: Anna Austin
  • 2014: Renata Howland
  • 2013: Jim Matthias
  • 2012: Teal Bell, MPH and Kim Hekman, MPH
  • 2011: Dyanne Herrera, MPH
  • 2010: Michelle Glaser, MPH
  • 2009: Nicole Standberry, MPH
  • 2008: Ryan Burke, MPH
For more information, please contact the CSTE national office at 770-458-3811.
Return to the CSTE Annual Awards Page